Item No: 9152


Conversational Solfege is a dynamic and captivating second through eighth grade general music program that enables students to become independent musical thinkers with the help of a rich variety of folk and classical music.

In this approach, music literacy for Gr. 2-8 begins with great literature and an "ear-before-eye" philosophy that correlates with the National Standards. Traditional songs are broken down into component parts and reassembled to meet the ultimate goal of engaging young musicians to hear, understand, read, write, compose and improvise.

Classical CD for use with Level 1 of John Feierabend's Conversational Solfege series.

It is organized around increasingly complex rhythmic and melodic content. Each new rhythmic or melodic element is discovered first in patterns and then reinforced with folk songs, rhymes, and classical examples.

This CD provides 17 classical selections referenced in Conversational Solfege Level 1.

These examples provide reinforcement for emerging literacy skills, and they also enable students to listen to wonderful classical examples with greater attention.

Listening to classical music can be challenging for elementary students. With nothing to hang onto, the many notes can be too much to comprehend and attention soon wanes. But with minimal literacy skills, students will have enough musical information to discover that classical music can be accessible and appealing.

In the included booklet, timings are given for each selection and the portions of the music that are readable by the students are reproduced. See Downloads below for free PDF booklet.

Whether using this CD with Conversational Solfege instructional materials or simply as a resource of classical music with simple to read rhythmic and melodic material, both teachers and students will delight in discovering this wonderful music through literacy.

Includes music from:

  • Bach
  • Beethoven
  • Bizet
  • Delibes
  • Dukas
  • Offenbach
  • Ravel
  • Respighi
  • Saint-Saens
  • Schubert
  • J Strauss
  • Tchaikovsky

Additional Info

CD Contents:

  • 1. Accompaniment for rhythm chanting in 2/4 meter • Johann Sebastian Bach • Suite in g minor, Allemande
  • 2. Accompaniment for rhythm chanting in 2/4 meter • Camille Saint-Saëns • Carnival of the Animals, Finale
  • 3. Accompaniment for rhythm chanting 6/8 meter • Ottorino Respighi • Ancient Airs and Dances, Saltarello e Canario
  • 4. Accompaniment for rhythm chanting in 6/8 meter • Johann Sebastian Bach • Suite in g minor, Prelude

Conversational Solfege Unit 1:

  • 5. Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky • The Crane
  • 6. Camille Saint-Saëns • Turtles from Carnival of the Animals
  • 7. Jacques Offenbach • Can-Can

Conversational Solfege Unit 2:

  • 8. Johann Strauss • Kaiser Waltz (excerpt)
  • 9. Johann Strauss • Roses from the South (excerpt)
  • 10. Ludwig van Beethoven • Symphony # 5, 3rd Movement (excerpt)
  • 11. Franz Schubert • March
  • 2. Maurice Ravel • Boléro Ostinato

Conversational Solfege Unit 3:

  • 13. Paul Dukas • The Sorcerer’s Apprentice (excerpt)
  • 14. Ferde Grofé • On the Trail from Grand Canyon Suite (excerpt)
  • 15. Léo Delibes • Notturno

Conversational Solfege Unit 4:

  • 16. Georges Bizet • The Carillon Ostinato from L’Arlésienne Suite


Listen to Samples:

NOTE: This is NOT the full track listing.


To top